Georgia Hunting Regulations
Posted Feb 03rd 2014 | By:
Hunting regulations is something that every hunter must know to avoid being on the wrong side of the law. Tracking and hunting game can be a fun and adventurous pursuit, but you don't want to ruin it by facing citations and court dates. If you're hunting large game like deer, you must not only be aware of the seasons to be get the best hunt possible, but you must also know based on state and county laws. Deer hunting seasons is at its end, but here's what to know the next time the seasons rolls around.
Where to Start
Before hunting, residents and non-hunting residents are required to obtain hunting permits for tracking deer, and there are separate regulations for hunting deer with dogs. The Georgia General Assembly passed a bill in 2003 that requires hunters to obtain a permit for deer hunting with dogs. The application for dog-deer hunting is $5 and must be submitted 30 days before the hunting starts. The annual hunting license is $10.00 for annual and $18 for two years. There is a separate Big-Game license requirement of $9.00 for annual and $16.00 for two years. There are separate license fees for non-residents, with different licenses for alligator and water fowl. To obtain a hunter's license, one must complete a hunter's education course, but it is not a requirement if hunting on your own land, or that of a relative.
Georgia Hunting Season 2013/14
The seasons usually begins with archery seasons, lasting from September 14 to October 11 statewide. Extended archery seasons (January 2-31) only applies to certain counties: Cobb, Clayton, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnet, Rockdale and Dekalb. The season for primitive weapons (such as muzzleloaders) is from October 12 to October 18. The firearms category is divided between North and South Georgia. Firearms season in the northern zone is from October 19 to January 1 and October 19 to January 15 for the southern zone. For more information, check out the Georgia Hunting Regulations website.
The total limit statewide is 12 per season.
You can't have more than 10 kills that have no antlers and more than 2 that are antlered. And one of the two deer must have four points minimum (one inch or longer on side of the antlers). In Hancock, Meriwether, Montgomery, Talbot, Troup and Randolph counties, only bucks that have four points on either side of the head are legal game. In Macon and Dooly counties, bucks with antlers must have a minimum 15 inch outside spread.
Firearms hunting is forbidden in Cobb, Clayton, Dekalb and Fulton counties, along with portions of Glenn and Forsyth County. South of Highway 20 in Forsyth, only shotguns and muzzleloaders may be used.
These are the basic regulations in a nutshell, and you can find more information on the official Georgia regulations website. There are variety of reasons why Georgia and certain counties have these regulations, such as controlling the deer populations, revenue from hunting permits, and ensuring that a certain species of animal is not endangered by overhunting.
and Tagged with
Comments not allowed for this article