Tumbling bullets (?)

Discussion in 'General Firearms Discussion' started by buck119, Sep 27, 2014.

1. buck119

buck119 New Member

Today I was at the range doing some practice with my 6" S&W 29, 44 Mag. I was mixing snap caps (3 or 5) with live ammo (3 or 1). I started shooting 25 yards at IPSC silhouette targets, with Sellier & Bellot 240gr soft point. Everything OK. After a while I started using what was left of a 250 rounds case of LAXAMMO reloads, 44 MAG, 240gr, FMJ. I do not like these ammo because they are weaker than standard factory ammunition but I wanted to consume them. At that point I started having some problems. From time to time I was hitting left, high-left, or high. When that happened the cuts were also not clean, not circular and with tears. The picture below is just an example. The three rounds in the center were Sellier & Bellot. The other three were LAXAMMO. Just to check I shot some PMC 180 gr JHP that I had with me and they were fine.
    I was not totally surprised of what happened. In fact few weeks ago I had the same problem while I was shooting my Marling 1894 44 Mag. Again I was shooting the LAXAMMO reloads. 50 and 75 yards with the iron sights at the same IPSC targets. Everything fine except that from time to time, I was either not hitting the target :)eek:) or hitting it near the left upper corner, above the shoulder. Also in those cases the holes were not clean. I don't reload so I didn't have a technical explanation. My only guess, at that time, was that weaker rounds plus, maybe, the microgroove rifling of the Marlin could cause that problem. Today I think I had the proof that the rifling was not part of the problem.
    What do you think it can be? I have never seen anything like that. Powder? Undersized bullet? I want to exclude sloppy shooting. I am bad but not that bad.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 27, 2014
  2. dogsbreath

dogsbreath Member