Survival Trip with Friends

Discussion in 'Survival Skills and Techniques' started by Hikalu, Apr 2, 2014.

1. Hikalu

Hikalu New Member

Hey, I'm new to this forum but I need to ask some questions.

For one, I'm 16 years old and a boy scout so I know a good deal about camping in the woods. I want to go out into the woods of Georgia and survive with a few friends (3 or 4) for five days bringing only a bug-out type backpack each. For food I was intending on making snares for squirrels and bringing my Ruger 10 22 for hunting squirrels and any other small game I can find. I've made a list of the gear I would need to bring but I've never done this before and would really appreciate it if you guys gave me some insight.

If I could get some general advice as to what to bring or how to go about gathering food that would be great. I'm learning how to snare and gut squirrels so I'm hoping to be able to get a lot of them.

Also we are intending to film parts of it and to do this sometime during the summer (August or July.)

Here is my list so far:

Survival Trip
    Supplies

-Tools
    Hatchet
    Long knife
    Multitool
    Magnesium Fire starter
    Flint and steel
    Extra knives/multitools would be good

-Shelter Construction
    550 paracord
    Duct tape

-Clothes
    The ones on you
    An extra shirt
    An extra pair of shorts
    Extra pair of socks

-Sanitation/comfort
    wet wipes
    insect reppelant
    bed rolls?

-Safety
    first aid kit
    radio(s) with spare batteries

-Cooking
    Dutch oven?
    spices
    Peanuts as emergency food/start up food (by the end we should be providing for ourselves)

-Water
    Water purification tablets (iodine)
    32 oz Nalgene per person everyone
    5 gallon container to fill up when we get there

-Trapping
    24 gage or stronger wire
    Galvanized nails
    550 paracord

-Hunting
    .22 rifle
    1 brick of ammo (500 rounds)

Filming
    Our phones
    Solar powered chargers

Tasks